Session Updates
  • Register

Fitzgerald and Nashville Designated as Rural Zones

ATLANTA (January 19, 2018) | Sen. Tyler Harper (R – Ocilla) recently announced that two communities in Senate District 7, Fitzgerald and Nashville, have been designated as Rural Zones by the Georgia Department of Community Affairs (DCA).

"The new designation for these communities will bring opportunities for economic development that are needed in rural Georgia,” said Sen. Harper. “The tax credits and investment incentives that this program will provide will open up doors for those in our communities. This is only a small part of the legislature’s efforts in bringing more opportunities to rural Georgia and I want to thank the Georgia DCA for identifying the need in our area.”
The Georgia DCA, along with the Georgia Department of Economic Development, can establish up to ten rural zones each year. Bainbridge, Commerce, Cornelia, Jonesboro, Perry, Springfield, and Toccoa also received Rural Zone designations this year. Parts of these communities are now zoned to allow for tax credits to eligible businesses that create jobs and stimulate economic activity. The tax credits that make up the Rural Zone program include a job tax credit, investment credit, and rehabilitation credit.
# # # #
Sen. Tyler Harper serves as Chairman of the Natural Resources and the Environment Committee. He represents the 7th Senate District which includes Atkinson, Bacon, Ben Hill, Berrien, Coffee, Irwin, Pierce and Ware counties and portions of Charlton and Wilcox counties. He may be reached at 404.463.5263 or via email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.